From Dream to Destiny Christian Website Banner
The Seven Sacraments are properly ordered according to three designations. Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist (Communion) are the three Sacraments of Christian Initiation, which lay the foundation for the Christian life. 
Reconciliation and the Anointing of the Sick are the Sacraments of Healing. Through them the Church continues, in the power of the Holy Spirit, to accomplish Christ’s work of healing and salvation among the Christian faithful. Matrimony and Holy Orders are the Sacraments at the Service of Communion.
They confer a special mission of service to the People of God.

Sacraments of Initiation 



By coming to faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior and through Baptism, Christians receive the gift of the Holy Spirit, thus becoming children of the Father and brothers and sisters to one another. Christians enter into the new life: the new communion that is the Church, the Body of Christ.
If you wish to Baptize your baby or you have been asked to be the godparent of a child and need to take the required Baptism class, the Youth Ministry Office can help.

First Holy Communion

The celebration of First Communion is an opportunity to catechize the whole community on the sacrament and to invite all to regular reception of the Eucharist. 
Second grade children being prepared for First Communion and their families are directed to attend Mass weekly and on holy days of obligation, and to pray daily. Catechesis includes an explanation of the parts and responses of the Mass to allow for full and active participation.
Students must be enrolled two years in religious education (1st and 2nd grade) to qualify for the sacrament of First Holy Communion.   


The Sacrament of Confirmation more perfectly binds the baptized to the Church and enriches each person with special strength of the Holy Spirit so that the individual can be a true witness to Christ. 
Those preparing for Confirmation in the Latin Church, who have the use of reason, must be able to renew the baptismal promises, be in a state of grace, have the intention of receiving the sacrament, and be prepared to assume the role of disciple. 
After completing 8th grade, students are eligible to apply for Confirmation. To learn more, visit Confirmation page.  


R.C.I.A. (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) is the process through which individuals are brought into the Catholic Faith.


R.C.I.A. is for those who would like to convert to Roman Catholicism and those who would like to be welcomed into the Catholic Church who are coming from another faith tradition.

R.C.I.A. is also for baptized Roman Catholics who did not receive First Holy Communion and/or Confirmation as children, and would like to receive these Sacraments in adulthood.

All those interested in our parish R.C.I.A. program, should contact Youth Ministry Office or 201-461-4261. 

Sacraments of Healing


The Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation (aka. Confession) grants the penitent pardon through God’s mercy for sins committed after Baptism, reconciles the penitent to God and the Church, and grants the grace to live a renewed life in Christ Jesus.
Confession Schedule (only Main Church) Wednesdays: 9am-9:30am and Saturdays 4:45pm-5:15pm.  
Second grade students in the Madonna Church Religious Formation program fulfill their Penance/Reconciliation sacrament prior to First Holy Communion. 

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick can be administered to anyone of any age in the case of any severe illness or emergency, and it may be administered multiple times.


To arrange for an anointing and visitation by a priest, contact the Rectory.

Sacraments of Vocation


Preparation for Marriage in the Catholic Church usually takes about one year to plan and prepare, as the Catholic bishops of New Jersey have directed that certain procedures be followed in preparing couples for the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony.

Preparation should begin one year prior to the expected date of the wedding. Engaged couples should make arrangements themselves by contacting the Rectory.

Holy Orders

Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders — as a deacon, priest or bishop — are
consecrated in Christ’s name “to feed the Church by the word and grace of God.”
Becoming a priest or a man or woman religious is not primarily our own decision…. Rather it is the response to a call and to a call of love. – Pope Francis, Address to Seminarians and Novices, July 6, 2013
To learn more, click here. If you are already interested in pursuing a vocation to Religious or Consecrated Life within the Archdiocese of Newark, please click here.